#### History and Philosophy

#### History

The Award was founded in 1956 by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh KG KT, in United Kingdom.

The Programme was launched in Mauritius in 1966 by two volunteers from England, Mary Gold Humpries and Trevor Smith. In 1978, a Gold Award Holders' Association was founded and Regional Award Committees were set up to extend the programme's reach in all districts including Rodrigues.

### Chronological Development of the Award Programme in Mauritius

- 1966 Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme
- 1987 National Youth Award
- 1993 National Youth Award Scheme
- 1997 International Youth Achievement Award
- 1999 National Youth Achievement Award
- 2013 The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award Mauritius

## Philosophy

The Award is about individual challenge and developing a sense of commitment. As every individual is different, so too are the challenges that young people undertake to achieve their Award. With guidance from their Award Leaders, Assessors or other Award volunteers, each young person should be encouraged to examine themselves, their interests, abilities and ambitions, then set themselves challenges in the four different sections of the Award. These challenges should be overcome through persistence and determination.

Young people do not need to excel to achieve an Award. They simply need to set personally challenging goals for improvement and then strive to reach those goals. A demonstration of commitment will help a young person get out of the Award what they put in: essentially, there are no short cuts to a real sense of achievement.

To help young people overcome their challenges, the Award provides them with opportunities to learn from experience. So, it isn't just undertaking Award activities that is important, it's reflecting on what one has learned from each activity that really makes a difference.

# The National Award Committee

SN	Name	Organisation
1.	Mr Joseph Ramsamy Chairman	Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sports and Recreation
2	Ms Vyrum Pillay Munien Secretary	Principal Youth Officer, Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sports and Recreation
3	Mrs Aradhna Goury	Technical Officer/ Senior Technical Officer National Parks and Conservation Service Ministry of Agro-Industry and Food Security
4	Mrs Aurore Lacloche	Acting PE Organiser, Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology
5	Mr Baureek Reshad Mohammad	Police Inspector, SSU Training Wing
6	Mrs Catherine de Cazanove	Rector, SEDEC
7	Mr Lutchmanen Erwin Jimmy	Police Inspector, National Coast Guard
8	Mr Mahesswarnath Luchoomun	Director, Private Secondary Education Authority
9	Mr Narain Joggesser	Rector, RTSS
10	Ms Neeru Ramgoolam	National Empowerment Foundation (NEF)
11	Mr Pritam Singh Mattan	Manager Corporate, Human Resource Development Council
12	Mr Ramnarain Amar	Police Inspector, SMF
13	Mr Shafaraz Rughony	President, Award Alumni
14	Mrs Vedna Jeewooth	Training Coordinator, Business Mauritius
15	Mr Yesayah Sunassee	Executive Committee member, MACOSS